Kayla Hui

Posted on Jan 19, 2015

Chao_February 21, 2016_5-3
: Fall 2014: Lucy : Double major in Gender and Women Studies and Human Development and Family Studies: Class of 2018: Chicago, IL: Chinese: Spring 2015: Alumnae Committee Fall 2015: Rush Chair and Asian Awareness Chair Spring 2016: Vice President Service: Growing up in Chicago, I was exposed to many cultures and attended mostly diverse schools. However, when I attended the University of Wisconsin-Madison, I felt like I lost my sense of self and my culture. I wanted to join an organization that embraced my Asian roots. When I attended a multicultural student organization fair in the fall of 2014 (when I crossed), I saw the aKDPhi booth and asked a sister more about the organization. I immediately grabbed a rush flyer and attended all the rush events. Little did I know, that I would cross that semester and join an organization that embodies who I am as a person: being a leader within the community, embracing my asian heritage, volunteering and giving back to the local community, maintaining high academic standards, and being a sister of this sorority. : As a new member, I was unsure of my responsibilities as an active and I was intimidated by the responsibilities of being an active. When I didn't understand something, I never spoke up and when I had an opinion, it was never voiced. aKDPhi has challenged me to speak up when something was unclear and to voice my opinion because everybody's voice is extremely important. It taught me how to be a leader within my own org and do work for my chapter. At first, it seemed overwhelming and scary, but I soon learned how to become a good active and sister. Overtime, I learned to step up within chapter to get work done and take initiative to guide and lead the young women who join this organization. : I enjoy cooking, reading, working out, journaling, photography, watching youtube videos, binge watch netflix, bake, yoga, and traveling. : I hope to go to graduate school to earn a degree in public health and become a nurse practitioner in either family medicine or women's health. In the future, I also hope to attend a PHD program in Gender and Women Studies and teach as a professor.